The Tit in Titles

Most women know that if you show a little tit, someone’s going to notice. It may not be a good notice, like the public breast feeding controversy, but hey it’s attention.

A good book or story title should do the same thing-get a reader’s attention.

When I mulled over the title for my latest novel, Jolene, You’re Not a Monster I came up with a list of pretty good ideas, but none of them seemed to do one very important thing-get the reader’s attention. None of the others made anyone wonder or question what was the book about.

Jolene, You’re Not a Monster raises the questions, why does Jolene think she’s a monster? Is she? Who or what is Jolene? For answers you have to read the book.

Now, the novel I’m working on is ready for the critique stage and I need a titillating title.

The main character, Melvina, is a young woman running from a scary past and an even more frightening secret society centered around an ancient Egyptian artifact that contains spirits called the Rod of Djed.

So, I have a few titillating words: running, secret society, frightening, and spirits.

The Rod of Djed – seems kind of boring.

The Horror of My Past – I don’t think it says enough.

Can’t Run Far Enough or Can’t Run Fast Enough – These raise a few questions, like who’s running, who’s chasing, but they also aren’t grabbing me enough to care about finding out the answers.

No Escape – but that’s already a title.

No Escaping the Rod – oh, that was piqued my interest. Melvina’s story. of course. has father issues. He was a tyrant and he’s after her, too. Plus, this title refers to the Rod of Djed. I like it! It’s scary and it makes me wonder who and why. A quick Amazon and Google search and woot, no other books by that title.

What do you think? Have I found my title?

Thanks for reading and I look forward to comments.

 

 

 

Leave a Reply

