Why Write?

80a75624d4450211905882e66c05ccc7Why be a writer? There are a lot of easier professions than writing out there. Hell, when I was a bartender/food server I got instant gratification for my work. Every day I received good feedback, but with writing a story and putting it out in the world it is a waiting game. People have to find the book, before they can read it. Once they’ve read it, I may never hear what they thought.

So, why do it?

When a story forms in my head, it doesn’t go away. I’ll have a scene play over and over in my mind until I write it down. It’s almost as if I have the muse in the picture. She’s holding a story to my head and if I don’t get it out it’s going to keep beating me up.

Once it’s all done and I’ve rewritten, edited, polished and read the final story, that’s when I’m glad I did it. As with Jolene, You’re Not a Monster, my latest novel, the characters and their stories exist now in the world not just my head. Jolene is such a complex, tortured creation with a beautiful soul that I feel good that I helped her to exist, to grow and I can’t wait to find out what happens to her next.

I’ve nurtured a being whose life will continue not just in my mind but in others, a tip or compliment on my service never did that.

So sure, helping customers enjoy their evening out and brightening their day was satisfying and I’d do it again, but I didn’t really add anything to their lives. When people read Jolene, her courage, her heart and her will to fight on no matter is added to their their lives and I hope she’ll enrich their world as so many characters have done for me.

Yeah, that’s why I do it. I want to leave the world a better place than I found it and getting the characters in my head out into this world has a chance of doing that.

 

 

Leave a Reply

