Book Review: NEVER LET ME LEAVE

51p1biZmoCL._SX331_BO1,204,203,200_This is a sneak preview of the review that will be live on Amazon in the next day or two.

Never Let Me Leave, the second book in Jennifer Brozek’s Melissa Allen trilogy was stunning! I enjoyed it as much as the first and I can’t wait for the third. Melissa, in the first book, survived an alien takeover of South Dakoda because of her unusual brain chemistry. Now, she’s in a lab for some tests, but there’s a different kind of alien being held there.

Melissa meets Adam, Ian, Sean and Carrie. Adam was created and raised in a lab. He is genetically perfect. Carrie is an orphan hacker. Ian survived a different kind of alien attack and captured the one being held at this lab. Sean survived yet another different kind of alien attack that slaughtered his family at sea. At this point, I’m intrigued to find out what’s going on with these aliens and alarmed at their diversity. By the end of the book, I was delighted with the plot and the aliens’ diabolical cleverness.

The action ramped up fast and was filled with nail biting excitement. By the end, I didn’t stop but bought the third book, because I had to find out what would happen next to Melissa. She’s a character that will forever stay with me and I have to thank Ms. Brozek for introducing us.

Adam will also stay with me, but for a very strange and coincidental reason. My debut novel, Jolene, You’re Not a Monster is centered on a creature/young woman (depending on your point of view) created in a lab like Adam. When I first read that Adam had a similar origin I was excited. It was fascinating to read another author’s take on such a parallel premise. Adam is very different from Jolene, he’s not a monster, but he has some of the same problems as Jolene. Although, I think he’s better adjusted to his life than Jolene is. Plus, Jolene is not a YA but a New Adult novel with adult situations. Still, I greatly enjoyed getting to know Adam and I care for him. He’s opened me to some new ideas. I’ve got a running scene in my head of Jolene and Adam meeting. What a conversation that would make!

Overall, I highly recommend this series to young and adult readers. Jennifer Brozek is going on my list of favorite authors.

Leave a Reply

